Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
tama vs. dw
kyle777
#1 Posted : 2/4/2011 7:34:08 PM
Groups: Newbie
Man
ive been drumming for about a year and a half so im not very experienced with different brands of drums. obviousely since im on this forum, i use tama. many people have been telling me that dw drums are the way to go. i also read alot of things with people talking about dw like it is the best. for example, talking about the sound quality of many different drumsets in comparison to a dw. i know they say the "best" brand of drums is personal opinion, but i have not had the opportunity to play many different brands. what is so special about DWs, why are they so often viewed as "the best"??
jwallacet
#2 Posted : 2/4/2011 8:13:08 PM
jwallacet

Man
I've had the same dilemma as you have. I still come to that crossroads every once in a while. Obviously it is about personal preference, like you said. One way they could be considered "the best" is; American made, you can get a very custom drum set (custom finish, custom size maybe, and the SSC). But I'd say Tama has superior hardware and pedals then DW does. One thing I like a lot about Tama, is they are the only (as far as I know) drum company that makes Bubinga drums. I kind of wish I had a Tama Starclassic set and a DW Collectors set because I like both companies. Another big thing is the price range. I'm sure DW is very expensive, maybe just for custom kits. I'm sure there are people on here (the forum) that can give you some information.
Tama Imperialstar black(2004?):
12x9
13x10
16x16
22x18
22x18
14x5.5 Stainless Steel Snare
Tama Starphonic Aluminum
sticksndrums6469
#3 Posted : 2/4/2011 8:40:16 PM
sticksndrums6469

1st off this topic has been discuss atleast one other time on the b/b section and its a hilarious if u read it.
2nd I believe pearl has their own bubinga verison.